Ministers from Bangladesh, Germany and Uganda lead the Global Partnership and advocate for effective development co-operation across the globe.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee prepares for the ministerial-level meetings and meets two or three times a year. The Steering Committee’s work is carried out transparently, ensuring that all members of the Global Partnership are consulted.

Steering Committee Members*

Representatives of recipients of development co-operation

Hazem Fahmy
Ambassador, Secretary General, Agency of Partnership for Development, Egypt
Ryna Elizabeth Garay Araniva
Director General of Development Co-operation, Vice Ministry of Development Co-operation, El Salvador
Mohammad Mejbahuddin
Secretary of Economic Relations Division, Ministry of Finance, Government of Bangladesh
Alfred Schuster
Development Co-operation Advisor, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat
Mustafa Aria
Aid Management Director, Ministry of Finance, Afghanistan* (* representing the g7+ group of fragile and conflict-affected states)
Ibrahim Assane Mayaki
Chief Executive Officer, New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) Planning and Coordinating Agency

Representative of recipients and providers of development co-operation

Javier Paulinich
Ambassador, Director-General for Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Peru
Jorge Voto-Bernales
Ambassador, Executive Director, Peruvian International Cooperation Agency (APCI), Peru
Rolando Tungpalan
Undersecretary, National Economic and Development Authority, Philippines

Representatives of providers of development co-operation

Klaus Rudischhauser
Deputy Director General, Directorate-General for Development and Co-operation, EuropeAid, European Commission
Shigenobu Kobayashi
Director, Development Assistance Policy Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan
Barbara Smith
Deputy Assistant to the Administrator, Bureau for Policy, Planning and Learning, U.S. Agency for International Development

Representative of Arab providers of development co-operation

Fuad Albassam
Assistant Director-General, Public Sector Operations, OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)

Representative of the private sector stakeholders

Louise Kantrow
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Permanent Representative to the United Nations

Representative of parliamentarians

Martin Chungong
Secretary-General, Inter-Parliamentary Union

Representative of local governments

Berry Vrbanovic
Mayor of Kitchener and Treasurer of United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG)

Representative of civil society stakeholders

Maria Theresa Lauron
Co-chair, CSO Partnership for Effective Development Co-operation, International Development, IBON International
Wellington Chibebe
Deputy Secretary-General, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC)

Representative of foundations

Maria Herminia Cabral
Director, Gulbenkian Partnerships for the Development Programme

Representative of multilateral development banks

Mahmoud Mohieldin
Senior Vice President for the 2030 Development Agenda, United Nations Relations, and Partnerships, World Bank

Representative of the UNDP/UNDG

Michael O’Neill
Assistant Secretary-General & Assistant Administrator, Bureau of External Relations and Advocacy, UNDP

Representative of the OECD

Douglas Frantz
Deputy Secretary General, OECD

*The Steering Committee membership list will be updated shortly, to reflect changes agreed at the Steering Committee meeting in Nairobi, as reflected in the Nairobi Outcome Document. Please check back soon.