The Steering Committee prepares for the ministerial-level meetings and meets two or three times a year. The Steering Committee’s work is carried out transparently, ensuring that all members of the Global Partnership are consulted.

The Steering Committee met February 29 – March 1, 2016 in Lilongwe, Malawi and has met eight times previously:


  • Ms. Claudia Ruiz Massieu Salinas, Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Mexico.
  • Ms. Lilianne Ploumen, Minister for Trade and Development, the Netherlands.
  • Mr. Goodall Edward Gondwe, Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development, Malawi.


Steering Committee members:

Representatives of recipients of development co-operation (6)
  • Mr. Hazem Fahmy, Ambassador, Secretary General, Agency of Partnership for Development, Egypt.
  • Ms. Ryna Elizabeth Garay Araniva, Director General of Development Cooperation, Vice Ministry of Development Cooperation, El Salvador.
  • Mr. Mohammad Mejbahuddin, Secretary of Economic Relations Division, Ministry of Finance, Government of Bangladesh.
  • Mr. Alfred Schuster, Development Cooperation Advisor, Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat.
  • Mr. Mustafa Aria, Aid Management Director, Ministry of Finance, Afghanistan* (* representing the g7+ group of fragile and conflict-affected states)
  • Dr. Ibrahim Assane Mayaki, Chief Executive Officer, New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) Planning and Coordinating Agency
Representative of recipients and providers of development co-operation (2)
  • Ms. Rosa Herrera Costa, Executive Director of the Peruvian Agency for International Cooperation, Peru.
  • Mr. Rolando Tungpalan, Deputy Director-General, National Economic and Development Authority, Philippines.


Representatives of providers of development co-operation (3)
  • Mr. Klaus Rudischhauser, Deputy Director General, Directorate-General for Development and Co-operation, EuropeAid, European Commission.
  • Mr. Shigeru Ushio, Deputy Director-General for Global Issues, Ambassador for Civil Society, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan.
  • Ms. Barbara Smith, Deputy Assistant to the Administrator, Bureau for Policy, Planning and Learning, U.S. Agency for International Development.


Representative of Arab providers of development co-operation (1)
  • Mr. Fuad Albassam, Assistant Director-General, Public Sector Operations, OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)


Representative of the private sector stakeholders (1)
  • Mr. Thomas de Man, Chairman of the Development Task Force, Business and Industry Advisory Committee (BIAC)


Representative of parliamentarians (1)
  • Mr. Martin Chungong, Secretary-General, Inter-Parliamentary Union.


Representative of local governments (1)
  • Ms. Annemarie Jorritsma-Lebbink, Vice President of United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), President of the Association of Netherlands Municipalities (VNG) and Mayor of Almere – Global Network of Cities, Local and Regional Governments.


Representative of civil society stakeholders (2)
  • Maria Theresa Lauron, Co-chair, CSO Partnership for Effective Development Co-operation, International Development, IBON International;
  • Mr. Wellington Chibebe, Deputy Secretary-General, International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC).


Representatives of foundations (1)
  • Ms. Maria Herminia Cabral, Director, Gulbenkian Partnerships for the Development Programme.


Representative of multilateral development banks (1)
  • Ms. Chiyo Kanda, Manager, World Bank.


Representative of the UNDP/UNDG (1)
  • Mr. Michael O’Neill, Assistant Secretary-General & Assistant Administrator, Bureau of External Relations and Advocacy, UNDP.


Representative of the OECD/DAC (1)
  • Mr. Erik Solheim, Chair, Development Assistance Committee, OECD.


A joint OECD/UNDP team provides support to the Co-Chairs and the Steering Committee.

The focal points listed below can provide information and respond to any queries:

Ms. Lauren Smith,
Global Partnership and Multi-stakeholder Analyst
+1 212 906 3640

Mr. Thomas Boehler,
Policy Analyst, Global Partnerships and Policies
+33 1 45 24 87 75

Copyright © 2015 United Nations Development Programme. All rights reserved.