The Guide is structured around five areas that the Collaborative has collectively identified as being integral to the development of more interoperable data systems at scale over time:

1. Interoperability, data management, and governance;

2. Canonical data and metadata models;

3. Classifications and vocabularies;

4. Standardized interfaces; and

5. Linked data.

The five areas covered by the Guide address some of the key dimensions needed to scale interoperability solutions to macroscopic and systemic levels. The Guide has been developed as a practical tool to help improve the integration and reusability of data and data systems. New sections, examples and guidance will be added to the Guide over time to ensure its continued relevance and usefulness in this fast-evolving space. Not all chapters will be relevant to all audience groups. We envisage that the introduction and first chapter will be most relevant to those engaged in policy, management and planning work; with the remaining four chapters being most relevant to technical specialists and statisticians across stakeholder groups who are looking for specific guidance on how to improve the interoperability of their information systems.